Dream House Review

Welcome all! Last review, I discussed JapanFunBox and at the end, I said I will be reviewing a fictional book. This is a non-spoiler review of Dream House by Marzia Bisognin, also known as CutiePieMarzia on youtube. Dream House is Marzia’s debut novel. Since it’s a book, most of the review will be opinion-based as what I enjoyed about could be reasons why someone else didn’t like the book.

The summary, straight from the back of the book:

“It’s everything she’s ever wanted in a home, so when the Blooms invite her to stay the night to avoid an impending storm, she instantly accepts. 

Yet when she awakes the next morning, alone and unable to bring herself to leave, Amethyst comes face-to-face with unexpected twists and turns – like Alfred, the creepy gardener; Avery, the handsome but secretive neighbour; and a little girl who keeps appearing and vanishing within the house. 

As Amethyst searches for the Blooms and tries to unravel the truth, her connection the house only grows stronger. Will she be able to break free of the house’s allure, or will its secrets keep her trapped forever?” 

Confession time, this is one of the very few books where I read non-spoiler reviews before I bought it. The reviews were split, they either hated or loved it. I ended up buying it after reading the first chapter available from google previews.

Overall, I thought Dream House was a nice, quick and enjoyable read. It does contain a few grammar mistakes but as English isn’t Marzia’s first language, I was more lenient that I would have been. One part of the ending is easily predictable but Dream House does have some interesting twists. I might do a spoiler review for the book in a few weeks.

The writing is quite interesting, there was something about it that just kept reeling me in. It’s in a first person view as well as being a stream of conscious style. Which I think works for the book and the way the book ended. Most of your questions are answered but there are a few things that are left unanswered. Personally, I think answering all the questions would have ruined the book.

Instead of chapters, Marzia has split her book into days. The chapter endings can get a bit repetitive due to this. It is quite obvious this is Marzia’s first book and there are some flaws in it. But I do think she has a potential to be a great writer if she decides to continue writing.

I enjoyed Dream House and I know I will be reading it again. It’s not the best book but it isn’t terrible.II would say it’s a little above average – maybe a 3.5-star rating? I certainly don’t regret buying it.

Price: I bought Dream House from Booktopia for AUD$4.95 with shipping ($6.95).

Next Review: A shutter speed dress from City Chic. 

Until Next Review,

Ramona

Leave a Reply

